Phoenix Valley disposal guide

Know your options.
Choose what works.

A mattress on your porch. Old paint in the garage. See what your city offers, what it costs and what to prepare. When you want help with the lifting and hauling, we’re here for that too.

The right answer may cost less than a private pickup. If you qualify and its schedule works, a city program can be a good fit. We help you understand those options and make removal simple when you need us.

Find your city and material

Compare costs and timing first. Open the details for resident eligibility, quantity limits and preparation.

Six city guides · Source checks November 2, 2026, except where noted

Mattresses & bulky items

By appointment

Four bulk appointments each year

Cost

The city describes four annual appointments. The official page reviewed does not state a separate pickup charge.

Timing

Book an appointment. Have the pile ready by 5:30 a.m.; put it out no earlier than seven days before pickup.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

For a qualifying Phoenix residential bulk-service account. A Phoenix mailing address alone does not confirm eligibility.

What to prepare

  • Up to 10 cubic yards per residence.
  • Cancel at least two business days ahead to avoid using an appointment allowance.
  • The current main bulk page does not explicitly name mattresses. Confirm mattress acceptance when reserving.

Holiday timing: the scheduler blocks Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day, plus the seven days after each. Appointment availability depends on the address and calendar.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026.

Paint & household hazardous waste

Home collection

Household paint through the HHW program

Cost

Free for eligible Phoenix residential solid-waste customers, according to the fee information checked November 1, 2026. One HHW home collection per calendar year.

Timing

An appointment is required. The official scheduling portal displayed “reservations closed” when checked November 2, 2026. That notice may change; it is not an address-specific booking result.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Phoenix residential solid-waste customers with an account and address that match their city bill. Business and commercial waste is excluded.

What to prepare

  • The paints category has a cumulative 10-gallon limit.
  • Listed materials include household, acrylic, enamel, oil and latex paints; thinners, strippers and stains.
  • Use sealed, leakproof containers in a box labelled HHW. Place it next to the garage or front door, not at the curb.

The general program page describes a 30-day booking calendar, but the scheduling portal was closed at the time of this review.

Official program · Accepted materials · Scheduling portal
Checked November 2, 2026. Fee evidence retains its November 1 verification date.

Mattresses & bulky items

Every other month

Mattresses can go in scheduled bulk pickup

Cost

Available through Tempe’s residential solid-waste program. A special pickup outside the regular cycle costs extra; the reviewed page does not list the amount. Call 480-350-4311 for that charge.

Timing

Ready by 6 a.m. Monday of the assigned collection week. Set out no earlier than ten days before.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Tempe residential solid-waste customers. Follow the curb or alley location assigned to the property.

What to prepare

  • Maximum 10 cubic yards.
  • Keep bulk items and green organics in separate piles, four feet apart.
  • Keep four feet clear of utilities and leave sidewalks and alleys open.
  • Mattresses are listed as accepted. Paint and chemicals are not bulk items.

An out-of-cycle pickup may be useful when the every-other-month schedule does not fit your move or delivery date.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026. Official indexed text reviewed; direct access was unavailable.

Paint & household hazardous waste

Resident drop-off

Tempe and Guadalupe households can use HPCC

Cost

The official page reviewed does not state a separate disposal fee. Free swap items are a separate offering.

Timing

1320 E. University Drive. Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, 7 a.m.–1 p.m. Closed for Zero Waste Days, city holidays and selected holiday weekends.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Tempe and Guadalupe residents with required proof of residency. Commercial, industrial and home-business waste is excluded.

What to prepare

  • Accepts latex paint, oil-based paint and stains, paint thinners and listed solvents.
  • Drums and totes are not accepted. For a container larger than five gallons, contact staff at 480-858-2223 before bringing it.
  • The reviewed page does not state an overall gallon cap.
  • Use cardboard boxes, not garbage bags. Place materials in the truck bed, trunk or rear hatch, away from passenger seats. Stay in the vehicle; staff unloads.

Bring a current Tempe or Guadalupe utility bill or accepted identification. Larger-container review may lead to a separate arrangement or an outside contractor at the resident’s expense.

Official program · Accepted materials
Checked November 2, 2026. Official indexed text reviewed; direct access was unavailable.

Mattresses & bulky items

Scheduled • fee per load

Mattress pickup starts at $31 per load

Cost

Starts at $31 per load for Mesa trash/recycling customers, or $39.59 per load for non-Mesa customers. The city defines a load as about 4 × 8 × 4 feet.

Timing

Set out after 6 p.m. the night before and by 6 a.m. on pickup day, at the curb or end of the driveway without blocking the sidewalk.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

The page’s introduction describes Mesa solid-waste customers; its fee table also lists non-Mesa customers. Confirm the applicable customer category. Apartments and HOAs may need their property manager to arrange service.

What to prepare

  • Mattresses, bed frames and box springs are accepted.
  • A single or bundled item over 60 pounds may be ineligible—important for heavier mattresses.
  • Maximum four loads per pickup.
  • Paint, liquids and hazardous waste are excluded. Appliances use a separate service.

A $31 trip charge can apply to a missed pickup, unacceptable items or cancellation less than one business day before service. Past-due account balances must be paid before booking.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026.

Paint & household hazardous waste

Eligible residents • no extra charge

Up to 20 gallons of paint and craft materials daily

Cost

No additional charge for eligible residents paying Mesa’s Green & Clean fee. The service is funded through that fee.

Timing

2412 N. Center Street, Building 2. Wednesday–Saturday, 7 a.m.–2 p.m.; closed city holidays. One visit per household per day. Stay in the vehicle; staff unloads. Do not leave materials outside opening hours.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Eligible Mesa residents with accepted proof of address and identification. County-island residents without Mesa trash service and business/commercial waste are excluded.

What to prepare

  • Paint and craft materials: 20 gallons combined per day.
  • Containers must be five gallons or smaller. Household quantities only.
  • Accepted types include latex, oil, acrylic and spray paint; stains, varnish, shellac, thinners, removers and solvents.
  • Keep containers sealed and labelled. Do not mix materials. Use boxes or totes, not bags.

Mesa also permits completely dried water-based latex paint in the black trash container, with the lid replaced once dry. This is a Mesa rule for that material; it does not apply to oil-based paint or automatically to other cities.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026. Address and hours retain their November 1 verification date.

Mattresses & bulky items

Shared annual allowance

Four combined uses included, then $43

Cost

Effective March 2, 2026: the first four combined bulk pickups and/or center trash visits in a calendar year are free. Later uses cost $43 on the utility bill. Included center visits are up to 400 pounds each.

Timing

Online requests generally schedule pickup 7–14 days after submission, with confirmation within two business days. Put items out no more than 24 hours before pickup; collection runs 6 a.m.–5 p.m.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

A qualifying Chandler residential service account. The allowance is shared: four pickups plus four center visits would be eight uses, not four.

What to prepare

  • Maximum pile 4 × 4 × 16 feet.
  • Place the pile within four feet of the curb or sidewalk.
  • List every item when requesting service; unlisted items are not guaranteed collection.
  • Hazardous materials, liquids, construction debris, tires, auto parts, rock, concrete and dirt are excluded.

The shared allowance described here concerns bulk pickup and center trash visits. Do not assume the same fee applies to household hazardous waste.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026.

Paint & household hazardous waste

Appointment • resident must deliver

Paint drop-off needs an appointment

Cost

The reviewed HHW page does not establish a separate disposal fee. The $43 bulk/center-trash charge above should not be applied to HHW by assumption.

Timing

955 E. Queen Creek Road. Call 480-782-3510, Monday–Friday 8 a.m.–5 p.m., to arrange an appointment. Facility opening hours do not establish appointment availability.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Qualifying Chandler solid-waste households and qualifying multifamily residents. Bring photo ID and a Chandler bill; materials must come from the residence on the bill. Businesses, home businesses, nonprofits, county islands and Sun Lakes are excluded.

What to prepare

  • 25 gallons total, measured by container capacity—not the amount left inside.
  • Containers must be five gallons or smaller.
  • The accepted list includes paint, lacquers, thinners and stains.
  • Secure marked containers in the rear of the vehicle; the resident unloads them onto carts.

The resident must deliver the material. Contractors and other people working for a resident cannot deliver it through this program.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026.

Mattresses & bulky items

Monthly collection

Mattresses are accepted in brush and bulk service

Cost

Available through Scottsdale’s residential collection service. The official page reviewed does not state a separate pickup price.

Timing

The city collects once during the assigned Monday–Friday week. Set items out no earlier than three days before Monday.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Residents paying for Scottsdale residential collection. HOA rules can be stricter than city rules.

What to prepare

  • Keep brush and bulk in separate piles, three feet apart.
  • Each pile can be no larger than 10 × 6 × 4 feet.
  • Use the front of the property when there is no alley; otherwise use your own side of the alley along the property line.
  • Hazardous materials, construction/remodel debris, dirt, rocks and concrete are excluded.

Use the property’s collection week rather than assuming the same Monday applies across Scottsdale.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026.

Paint & household hazardous waste

Home collection • limited appointments

Up to three free HHW collections a year

Cost

Up to three free home collections per year for eligible residential utility customers.

Timing

Registration opens on the first of the month at 8 a.m. until full. No collections in June or December. The official indexed page displayed “all appointments full” when reviewed November 2, 2026.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Scottsdale residential utility customers. Business chemicals and leaking containers are excluded. City facilities are not HHW drop-off locations.

What to prepare

  • 20 gallons per appointment, measured by container capacity rather than remaining liquid.
  • Containers must be five gallons or smaller.
  • Listed types include oil, latex and spray paint, adhesives, sealers, solvents, stains, thinners and strippers.
  • After receiving confirmation, set labelled HHW out at the front property edge by 7 a.m.

The full-appointments notice is a dated observation, not a permanent closure or a tested booking result for your address.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026. Official indexed text reviewed; direct access was unavailable.

Mattresses & bulky items

Every five weeks

Mattresses fit the regular bulk program

Cost

Standard collection is part of the eligible residential program. Special out-of-week or qualifying oversized collection is advertised at $100, subject to the city’s service and size rules.

Timing

Every five weeks, excluding Thanksgiving and Christmas weeks. Set out no earlier than the preceding Saturday; have items ready by 5 a.m. Monday.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

An eligible Gilbert residential collection account. Confirm the address and eligibility before requesting special collection.

What to prepare

  • One standard pile, no larger than 10 × 5 × 5 feet.
  • The published oversized special-service band extends to 20 × 5 × 5 feet.
  • Place the pile in the street against the curb, five feet clear of obstacles.
  • Mattresses are accepted; paint and hazardous waste are not. Large appliances use separate service.

The regular collection week depends on the property. The $100 special service is not a universal quote for every size or kind of load.

Official program
Checked November 2, 2026. Official indexed text reviewed; direct access was unavailable.

Paint & household hazardous waste

Gilbert households only

Keep each liquid type to 10 gallons per day

Cost

The service is described as included in the base residential rate in the source checked November 1, 2026. A separate disposal charge was not confirmed.

Timing

2224 E. Queen Creek Road. Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, 7 a.m.–2:30 p.m.; closed on town holidays.

Who qualifies, limits & preparation

Who can use it

Gilbert residents with valid state or federal identification and a town utility bill. Business and commercial hazardous waste is excluded. The swap shop is open to the public; disposal eligibility is narrower.

What to prepare

  • No more than 10 gallons of any one liquid type per day.
  • Containers must be five gallons or smaller.
  • Latex paint, oil-based paint and stains are listed in the source checked November 1, 2026.
  • Residents unload onto carts; assistance is available.

Eligibility, container and liquid limits, and hours were checked November 2, 2026. Paint types and cost were checked November 1.

Official program · Accepted materials
Checked November 2, 2026. Official indexed text reviewed; direct access was unavailable. Paint types and price retain November 1 evidence.

When you want the hauling handled

Outdoor mattress pickup with a clear price.

Send the item count, location and access details. We confirm your address, price and available pickup date before you commit.

$74First outdoor mattress unit, any size
+$30 per additional unit at the same address

A box spring counts as one unit. The two halves of a split king box spring count together as one. A king mattress plus its split box spring pair is $104. Indoor removal needs a separate quote.

Mattress Mondays: every fifth qualifying Monday booking gets $74 off. See how the offer works and full terms →

More communities

Looking for another paint option?

Our full paint-disposal guide covers 42 communities and counties, with local programs, accepted materials and resident requirements.

Explore the full paint-disposal guide →

Beyond a mattress

Get help with the whole job.

For furniture and other junk, share the complete item list and access details. We explain what we can take and the price before you choose.

Ask for a junk-removal quote →

This guide explains resident disposal programs. It does not establish PVJR paint-removal service or permission for us to use a household program on your behalf. A community’s inclusion here does not guarantee pickup availability at every address. Source-check dates describe the information reviewed, not an available appointment.